Academy of Electrical and Computer Engineering (AECE) Minutes of Annual Business Meeting April 4, 2003

Attendees:

Laszlo Zala

Richard Arnold
Kelvin Erickson
Leonard Laskowski III
James Leonard
Darrel Mank
Walter Reed
George Schindler
David Sizemore
Jack Stewart
George Tomazi
Roger Volk
Don Willyard

James Eckhoff
William Hord
Dennis Leitterman
Ronald Lutes
Sandra Martin
Larry Rushing
Donald Shaw
Keith Stanek
Paul Stigall

Thomas Van Doren Ronald Willoughby Ralph Wolfram

The annual Meeting of the Academy of Electrical and Computer Engineering was held on Friday, April 4, 2003 at 8:30 a.m. in the Academy of Electrical Engineering Conference Room located at Emerson Electric Company Hall. President Don Willyard chaired the meeting.

Interim Department Chair, Dr. Kelvin Erickson, welcomed the Academy members and the new inductees to the department and to the campus.

Julie Turley, Director of Major Gifts, gave an update on the campus development plans. Julie reported the importance of private gifts to the university, since the State has cut appropriations to the university due to the state of the economy. The Havener Center site has been cleared so construction can begin. Ground breaking was held for the new residential college. These new buildings are able to be constructed because of funds raised several years prior to the downturn in the economy. Julie has been promoted to the Director of Major Gifts. Next year's meeting will be attended by Judy Cavender who is now the Development Officer for the Electrical and Computer Engineering Department.

Dr. Kurt Kosbar, Scholarship Coordinator, presented a summary of the scholarship program and discussed how scholarship committee members select students for a scholarship.

James Saunders was awarded a \$1,750 scholarship. James already holds a law degree. He hopes to use the engineering degree along with his law degree to practice patent prosecution and/or patent litigation. James thanked the Academy for his scholarship and gave a presentation.

Trung Dam was awarded a \$1,750 scholarship. Trung is a first generation American citizen and college student. Trung plans on obtaining a masters degree before entering the full-time work force. He then plans on obtaining a PhD and would like to teach future engineers. Trung also thanked the Academy and gave his presentation.

Dr. Erickson gave a presentation on the current status of the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering along with the future plans. He explained the new 128 hour curriculum for both electrical and computer engineering programs that will take effect fall semester 2003. Dr. Hardy Pottinger and Dr. Paul Stigall have retired and four new faculty members were hired.

Tim Landstra thanked the Academy for his \$1,750 scholarship and gave a presentation. Tim would like to graduate with both bachelors and master's degrees in computer engineering. Tim hopes to return later to receive a doctorate.

Academy President Don Willyard opened the afternoon session by asking for a moment of silence for Roy D. Hays who passed away on October 8, 2002.

Don Willyard then introduced the new inductees for 2003: Leonard Laskowski III, James V. Leonard, E. Keith Stanek, and Laszlo F. Zala.

David Begley, Robert Kruse, John Mangoff and Tom McMahan, who were nominated to become new inductees this year, but could not attend the meeting, will be asked to join at the 2004 business meeting and banquet. Each had to decline this year for various reasons, but expressed interest in joining the Academy.

Roger Volk made a motion to appoint Ron Willoughby as the new President and Don Shaw as the new Vice-President for two years to start duties April 5, 2003 and end in April, 2005. David Sizemore seconded the motion. Motion carried.

James Eckhoff made a motion to appoint Tom Van Doren to a two year term as Secretary/Treasurer to start April 5, 2003 and end in April, 2005. George Schindler seconded the motion. Motion carried. The position of secretary/treasurer will automatically move up to the position of Vice-President and then President as the prior terms end.

Larry Rushing made a motion to approve the minutes of April 5, 2002. Roger Volk seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Don Shaw presented the expense report for March 1, 2002 thru February 28, 2003 and the proposed budget for the 2003-2004 fiscal year. William Hord made a motion to approve both the expense report for March 1, 2002 thru February 28, 2003 and the proposed budget for the 2003-2004 fiscal year. Dennis Leitterman seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Del Mank presented a ballot to vote for two candidates for the Board of Directors. Del Mank counted the ballots after collection. Richard Arnold and George Schindler were voted to the Board of Directors after the ballots were counted.

James Eckhoff made a motion to have the next business meeting and banquet on Friday, April 16, 2004 with the alternate date of Friday, April 23, 2004. Ronald Lutes seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Bradley Deken gave his presentation and thanked the academy for his \$1,750 scholarship. Brad plans to work towards a master degree in electrical engineering and to continue research in Power Systems.

Academy members gave Dr. Erickson feedback on the needs of industry. Discussion followed on the merits of a BS, MS and PhD, the level of skills that students need to enter industry, and taking classes via video and/or distance learning courses. The importance of a student's communication skills was discussed along with the need for leadership skills.

The meeting was adjourned by Don Willyard at 4:00 pm.

The next Board Meeting and Banquet of the Academy of Electrical and Computer Engineering will be April 16, 2004. Please mark your calendars and plan to attend.

Minutes approved by Thomas Van Doren

Date May 15, 2003